NaNoWriMo Project 2012: Day 17: Ignore the word count!

So today’s writing session went well, over 1,600 words!

But I’d just like to say, I know that the goal is 50,000 words, but ignore the word count… Seriously.

I wrote most if today’s chapter on something which didn’t have a word count function, but when I counted the words later on, I had realised that I had written 600 words.

So what I have learnt today is that staring at the word count number will only slow you down and demotivate you. Get rid of the word count function and just write! It worked for me!

Liam

Current Word Count: 28,415
Current Page Count: 118
Chapters Completed: 19

20121117-184712.jpg

6 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo Project 2012: Day 17: Ignore the word count!

  1. great advice Liam! I personally never look at the word count till I am done writing all I can for that time. Makes it easier on the nerves. 🙂 Good job!

    Like

  2. Wow – that’s a great achievement! I think I might have to get rid of my word count function too because I keep glancing at it as I type…..you’re right, it’s completely demotivating and useless.

    Like

Think Outside the Box...

