NaNoWriMo Project 2012: Day 1: It begins…

For me, never has Halloween been so terrifying…

Today was the official start of NaNoWriMo, and after today, I have … completed my 1,647 words a day (the magic number of words you need each day to complete NaNoWriMo).

It was quite easy to start off, I haven’t been writing in a while, so the creative part of me was happy to get involved. And so I began my work on Chapter One.

Now, I know some of you may be thinking that I might jeopardise my chances of winning NaNoWriMo by doing this, but I have to give myself breaks, and when I feel as if I have done enough and I have done 1,647 words then I stop and write the post near the end of the day, hence the reason this post is up at 7pm.

Are you doing NaNoWriMo? Comment below if you are (if not, I understand, you’ll probably be a bit busy!)

Oh, and for those wondering, this week’s T.G.I. Thursday is the fact that it’s the start of NaNoWriMo!

See you tomorrow for Day 2!

Current Word Count: 1,687
Current Page Count: 7
Current Chapter: 2



32 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo Project 2012: Day 1: It begins…

    • Thank you! I will be sure to return the favour and check out your update! I look forward to your progress.πŸ™‚

      Lucky you! You’ve got more writing time than I have! Haha! It’s not long before it’s day 2 for us in the UK.


  1. Well done, and good luck! Thanks for the follow. It’s my first nano so I’m pretty bewildered by how many words I have left to go! Hoping day 2 will be less daunting!


    • Thank you! Yeah, I was aiming to end the chapter where it felt right, but wanted it to reach the minimum if 1,667. So I added a little bit more in, it still had the cliffhanger, but gave me an extra 20 words!

      I know! I might push myself further and maybe write 2k or 3k, but I’m worried my fingers will fall off! Haha!


  2. Good on you for having a go! I have never had time or energy to commit to a novel in a month. I tend to freeze. And it’s report writing month and I have commitments to fifty kids and their frenzied fundraising. Maybe if it was February…. But that’s me. Just remember, it’s meant to be for fun and the world won’t come to an end if you don’t finish, but you will have a large chunk of novel you didn’t have before.


Think Outside the Box...

